Learn More about NFL in the Community


Card 37
Card 37
NFL Initiatives

Don Shula Coach of the Year Award

From one great coach to another: the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award was created to honor exemplary high school football coaches who display the integrity, achievement, and leadership demonstrated by Don Shula, the winningest coach in NFL history and a two-time Super Bowl champion. Nominations are submitted by the 32 clubs, and the winner is announced during the 2018 Pro Bowl. The NFL Foundation contributes $40,000 in grant awards, with the winner receiving $25,000 ($15,000 going to his school’s football program). The winner and runner-up are honored at the Pro Bowl and during Super Bowl Week. The 2017 winner was Robert Garrett, the head coach at Crenshaw High School in Los Angeles, California.